Not since Bunnicula — the vampire bunny that sucked the juice out of vegetables — has there been such an interest in vegetarian options for vampires. Sure, the immortal “cold ones” get to enjoy a host of benefits not privy to you and me, but that one tiny detail of sucking on humans has many checking out alternatives.
No, I’m not delusional from a long week. Believe it or not, the term “vegetarian vampire” is showing up all over the place — thanks in large part to the popularity of the Twilight book series, upcoming movie of the same name, and new series on HBO called True Blood.
Written by author Stephenie Meyer, Twilight tells the story of a young woman that falls in love with a vampire named Edward Cullen. Thing is, he abstains from drinking human blood, and drinks animal blood instead. Hence, he’s labeled “vegetarian” — which obviously makes no sense according to the true definition but provides a fine analogy.
But seriously — this whole “vegetarian vampire” premise has gotten so big, that there’s even a “how to” for dressing up as one: “Put on gold contacts if you are a “vegetarian” vampire. If you do not want to be vegetarian, put on burgundy contacts. This step is optional.” Now you know.
Regarding True Blood, I guess these guys would be called “Vegan Vampires” since the idea is that an artificial blood source has been created so that vampires do not have to kill at all.
(My God, are you still reading this post?!)
So — there you have it. Next time someone mentions to you that they’re a “vegetarian/vegan vampire” for Halloween, you can tell them how I wasted a couple minutes of your life bringing you up to speed. You’re welcome.