Clint Eastwood Says He Is Not A Vegan. So There, Punk.
There are lots of sites online talking about Clint Eastwood being a vegan. The LA Times wrote an article a few months back over Clint’s distaste for hunting and added that he was a vegan. Head on over to GoVeg.com and you’ll find a quote from the actor saying, “I try to stick to a vegan diet heavy on fruit, vegetables, tofu, and other soy products.” In fact, type “Clint Eastwood Vegan” into Google and you’ll be greeted with over 250,000 sites backing it up. The Razz included.
So, it was with some surprise that I read today in a NY Times interview with the actor that he is NOT a vegan. Even more disconcerting to veggie fans, Eastwood “looked slightly aghast” when told what the vegan lifestyle encompassed. That’s right — he actually had to be given the definition of veganism. This is shocking simply because the actor is often held high in the vegan community as a symbol of a tough guy, macho man that’s on their side. Based on this interview, it’s safe to assume that Clint was never a vegetarian, much less a vegan.
I guess this is a classic example of a rumor made real online — and it all appears to have come from one (probably made up) quote. But, if you learned nothing else today (God help you), now you know that Clint Eastwood is indeed NOT a vegan. Now excuse me while I go make some corrections…