Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 10, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

Winemakers are replacing gelatin with pea-protein

Like us on Facebook:

Wine free from animal products is something we’re keen to toast to.

VegNews reports that a company called Eaton is making it easier for winemakers to create vegan products. WineBusiness.com recently addressed the growing demand for gelatin free wine, and hypes the effortless and necessary switch to pea protein with Eaton products. No more guzzling animal fats!

Eaton supports that their SIHA Pea Protein based replacement acts as a stabilizer to everyone’s favourite dinner accompaniment, similar to the gelatin that’s commonly used now. Combined with other vegan fining agents (substances to clarify wine), such as active bentonite and silica sol, Eaton’s is confident it can match the consumer demand for animal-product free wine easily.

SIHA Activated Carbon powder is thrown in to the mix for correcting colour and odour deficiencies and off-flavours prior to bottling, and SIHA Brilliant and SIHA Tannin enhances the characteristics of sparkling wines and champagnes, keeping our options open for celebrations. It’s a lot of big words, but all you need to know is that none of them come from animals. The best part for sceptical winemakers? There are no special tools or additional equipment needed to swap gelatin out, and bring vegan customers in.

“Today’s consumers want alternatives to gelatin fining,” Dr. Ilona Schneider, an enologist involved with product management beverage treatment and research and development at Eaton’s Filtration Division, said in Wine Business Magazine. “We are pleased to offer one that is vegan and free from genetically modified organisms and allergens. It is also in agreement with kosher and halal dietary requirements.”

With leaders like Guinness paving the way for big brands to make the switch to vegan, there may come a day when Barnivore just becomes a list of all alcohol beverages (we can dream). 

Like us on Facebook:
0 Comments
  • So glad to hear this. As a wine lover, it can be frustrating that so many wineries continue to use isinglass. Hopefully everyone will make the switch soon!

France’s ban of faux-meat branding won’t stop veganism

I’ll take “mycoproteinous food tube” over a tube of dead pig any day.

Concerned about endangered animals? Stop eating them

Methods of animal conservation that support the exploitation of animals don’t exist for the animals, they exist for human profit.

What you can do if live exports disturb you

The outcry should go further than importation and should be directed at the fact that the animals in question were on their way to slaughter in the first place.