Cheers! Guinness Goes Vegan-Friendly
Looks like some of that Irish luck has rubbed off on the animals, and vegans.
After 256 years, Ireland’s famous stout, Guinness, is going vegan-friendly after its company vowed to stop using fish bladders in its brewing process.
The move is great news for vegetarians and vegans who have been been petitioning the company for years to do away with their centuries-old filtration process so they could enjoy a pint.
Right now, Guinness uses isinglass, a gelatin obtained from fish, in its filtration system at St James’s Gate brewery in Ireland. Though most of the isinglass is removed, the company has said they can’t “guarantee 100 percent is removed.”
A spokesman for Guinness told The Times that the firm would now look at using a new filtration plant that would be vegan-friendly, and that they hope the system would be in place in 2016. (Just in time for St. Patrick’s Day, perhaps?)
According to the brewer, Guinness sells its products in more than 150 countries globally, with 10 million glasses of Guinness consumed every day — which is bound to increase once vegans are finally able to drink a glass.